Posted by: cosmicgarden | March 23, 2009

Borage

I planted borage once and now it volunteers.

borage

I pull it out of the beds now but it grows on the edges around the beds.

The leaves are big and juicy, tender, covered with prickly silvery hairs. Every year I look at them and do not want to eat them! Too fuzzy!

The blossoms are a different story, however. They remind me of shooting-star flowers except they are heavenly blue.

Last year I joined the bees buzzing around in the borage and picked a ton of the little stars. So many bees, they love it!  But they were all so busy they didn’t notice me and I tried not to disturb them.

Carefully cleaned of the prickly stems, and washed and gently dried, I gave some to the fancy restaurant downtown, thinking that a chef would be lucky to find a source of these for their signature salads.  Wishing I could market them. But not a single discerning chef wanted these cerulean gems grown in my organic garden.

I don’t understand why. I am not pushy enough for sales, I’m afraid.

So I took borage blossoms and nasturtiums and chopped them with a tiny bit of garlic and some french herbs in some goat cheese, stuffed the mixture into squash blossoms and fried them in a fluffy egg batter.  THAT was truly heaven on a plate!

They would be good as garnish for a grapefruit half or hard-boiled eggs. How pretty that would be! They would also be a gorgeous decoration on the cream cheese frosting of a carrot cake. I am going to do that. Yes I will–I’ll take a picture when I do.

Now I’m getting hungry!

How about

Herbed Cucumber Dip With Borage Blossoms

or

Summertime Borage/Cucumber/Lime drink?

Cucumber and lime with a little fine sugar and borage blossoms in ice cubes sounds so refreshing!

Supposedly there are medicinal purposes but the info is a bit contradictory.

uses -This herb is used as an antiinflammatory for premenstrual syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis, Raynaud’s disease, and other inflammatory conditions. It is also used to treat atopic dermatitis, infant cradle cap, cystic fibrosis, high blood pressure, and diabetes; effectiveness is not proven.
contraindications -Should not be used since it is likely unsafe when used in amounts ingested for medicinal purpose.

 

It has been promoted as good for an adrenal tonic after stress and to promote lactaction.

The ancient Celtic wisdom calls it borrach, “courage” and says it cures melancholy, and eases sadness and grief. I find that to be true, when out in the garden patch amongst the blooms I feel quite happy and calm.

I love some of the other names for it too. Common bugloss, star flower, tailwort, and beebread.   Yes, I think I will call it beebread from now on.

Tomorrow I will go out in the garden and look for signs.

I know this year there will be plenty for the bees and for me too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

