Posted by: cosmicgarden | April 30, 2009

Tomato Seeds

It’s true, I am a sucker for the seed catalogs.  Every seed a possibility. I almost don’t know why I still grow tomatoes from seed, there are always plenty of started plants available, but then I can’t resist the descriptions and dreaming is half the fun.  I like to choose different varieties.

Debarao

Tomato – Heirloom Tall Vine – Certified Organic

Heavy-bearing, smooth and firm plums.
Medium-size (avg. 3-4 oz.), oval, crack-free, and deep red. Matures about 1 week before other Italian plum types. Good for processing and saladette uses. Indeterminate. Organically grown. Mini: 40 seeds.

Days to Maturity or Bloom: 72

So my plan for these is to grow them separately so as to save some of the seeds. I love plum tomatoes—they are perfect for my roasted tomato sauce and if these are early that will give me a little head start. Here I am, I can’t wait to be up to our ears in tomatoes again.  I think I’m going to grow these up against the fence.

I also started seeds for Big Beef Beefsteak. Last year I didn’t grow any BIG tomatoes, and I have to say I missed them.  Supposedly Big Beef tastes better than most. 

big beef beefsteak tomato 2009_04_29_21_26_41_Page_1 big beef beefsteak tomato 2009_04_29_21_26_41_Page_3

Leave a Reply

Categories

