Posted by: cosmicgarden | May 22, 2009

Peas and Chard

 

By the driveway on the east side of the house there is a bed we built many years ago, made out of 2×12’s.

It is out away from the foundation about 6 inches, and has always been a bit of a challenge. It doesn’t get much sun.  There are two trellises under the windows and two clematis. This is a note to myself (because I always forget by the time winter comes) that the clematis closest to the front of the house does not grow again on old vines, so go ahead and prune the dead stuff off!  There used to be quite a few lilies but after I went through it a year or so ago and cleaned out all the grass and started over again, now there is only one. But it is huge!  There are a few poppies also, and I’m not sure yet if they are annuals that re-seeded or the big orange oriental ones that I don’t really want there.  I will wait and see. I think they are the good ones.

The soil there is still quite cool. So even though I am very late getting peas planted, I think that will be a good spot for them. Oregon Giant snow peas are the ones I put in after soaking in inoculant.  In front of that I put Magenta Sunset swiss chard. I think it’s going to be very nice there, and should do well there since that spot stays kind of cool since it never sees the hot afternoon sun.

Magenta Sunset Swiss Chard: 25-30 days
A beauty queen of a Chard, Magenta Sunset has crinkly, iridescent, dark jade leaves with hot pink to magenta stems, midribs and veins. Perfect for scissor harvest as baby leaves, it has a mild earthy flavor that is lovely in salads. It may also be grown into full-sized, 24” tall beauties so that you may take advantage of its opulent ornamental stature. Somewhat heat-tolerant, it should be grown for baby leaf harvest during the high heat of summer. Slight variability in the stock may produce some solid green plants. 

magenta sunset

I want to plant more peas but I’m not sure where.


Responses

  1. […] Magenta Sunset Swiss Chard top left in this photo. Share this:ShareFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  2. Why people still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything is existing
    on net?


Leave a Reply

Categories

