Posted by: cosmicgarden | May 23, 2009

Potatoes and Beans

I built up a new bed this year along a fence that had been pounded by dogs in previous years when Awgie was with us. I added manure not knowing that could make for scabby potatoes! So I covered the manure with fresh straw and more soil THEN planted the potatoes. And pole beans, Blue Lake Stringless, behind them to grow up the fence.  It will be interesting to see how it goes, I never grew potatoes before because they were cheap and I couldn’t tell a huge difference.  But the colors enticed me this year. Blue especially—looks purple to me, my favorite color!

irish eyes potatoes_Page_1

irish eyes potatoes_Page_2

Leave a Reply

Categories

