Posted by: cosmicgarden | November 4, 2009

Halloween 2009

This is what we listened to while the sun went down and the first trick-or-treaters made their way up the street. Chilling, weird, and fantastic. Freethought Radio broadcast the program over the internet and we shared the audio as part of the effects for the holiday ritual.

FTV 181 Halloween Fantasy: Vampires

This week on From the Vault we offer Pacifica Radio’s Halloween Fantasy: Vampires, first broadcast on KPFA in Berkeley, California on October 31, 1971. This original program mixes music, literary excerpts, dramatic readings and humor to present an audio history of Bram Stoker’s immortal Count Dracula character – and the man who set the precedence for Dracula on film – Bela Lugosi. The original producer and host, Mitchell Harding, takes us along on his macabre journey.

From the Vault is presented as part of the Pacifica Radio Archives Preservation and Access Project.

LISTEN to this episode.

http://fromthevaultradio.org/home/2009/10/23/ftv-180-halloween-fantasy-vampires/

Responses

  1. from Mefistofele: Opera in Four Acts

    Mefistofele.

    I am the spirit that denies

    Ever, all things; the star, the flower.

    My smile, and the thought of me.

    Disturb the leisure of the Creator.

    I long for Naught, and the ruin

    Of all things created.

    My vital atmosphere

    Is what men call Sin.

    Death and Evil!

    I laugh and launch out this syllable!

    “No.”

    I destroy, I tempt, I roar, I hiss,

    “No.”

    I bite, I seize, I hiss ! I hiss ! I hiss.

    (Whistles violently through his

    fingers.)

    I am part of a cavern

    Of the great All : Darkness.

    I am a son of Gloom

    Which Gloom shall reign anew.

    If now light usurps and clutches.

    Rebellious, my sceptre.

    The dispute will shortly end.

    In the sun and on earth

    Is Destruction!

    I laugh and launch forth this syllable :

    “No.”

    I destroy, I tempt, I roar, I hiss.

  2. Be Near Me When My Light Is Low
    by: Lord Alfred Tennyson (1809 – 1892)

    Send this Poem
    Printer Version
    Be near me when my light is low,
    When the blood creeps, and the nerves prick
    And tingle; and the heart is sick,
    And all the wheels of Being slow.

    Be near me when the sensuous frame
    Is rack’d with pangs that conquer trust;
    And Time, a maniac scattering dust,
    And Life, a Fury slinging flame.

    Be near me when my faith is dry,
    And men the flies of latter spring,
    That lay their eggs, and sting and sing
    And weave their petty cells and die.

    Be near me when I fade away,
    To point the term of human strife,
    And on the low dark verge of life
    The twilight of eternal day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

