Posted by: cosmicgarden | January 22, 2011

Biography for Kenneth S. Pope

 

We can each give so much to each other and to our communities. Sometimes just a word or gesture helps someone to keep going, overcome a baffling obstacle, or see new vistas. An example: During that second year at Harvard I signed up for an advanced course in the med school. The first day I was already lost. The professor kept asking if we saw various structures in our microscopes. Everyone nodded yes, but I had no idea what he was talking about. I was too embarrassed to admit I couldn’t see any of them. Finally I raised my hand and confessed. He looked at me a long time, then came down the aisle, put his hand on my back, leaned down to the floor, and plugged in my electronic microscope. Sometimes that’s all it takes.

Biography for Kenneth S. Pope

Leave a Reply

Categories

