Posted by: cosmicgarden | January 1, 2012

More Than Human–Theodore Sturgeon

 

I enjoyed this a great deal. I loved the story and some of the phrases were intense.

Like when Lone first became aware of the name for who he was: “All the wandering, the hunger, the loss, the thing which is worse than loss, called lack.”

And the almost humorous: ‎"No, it must be this other, this thing which made her look at lovers with such contained sadness, with an expression on her face like that of an armless man spellbound by violin music…."

And this exquisite description, my most favorite sentences in the whole book: "They turned to each other, he the driving, she the driven gear. Their breath left them, hung as a symbol and a promise between them, alive and merged. For two heavy heartbeats they had their single planet in the lovers’ spangled cosmos; and then……"

ahhh…sigh…..

More Than Human

MoreThanHuman(1stEdPB).jpg

More Than Human – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"Homo Gestalt, the next step upward. Well, sure, why not a psychic evolution instead of the physical? Homo sapiens stood suddenly naked and unarmed but for the wrinkled jelly in his king-sized skull; he was as different as he could be from the beasts which bore him.

Yet he was the same, the same; to this day he was hungry to breed, hungry to own,; he killed without compunction; if he was strong he took, if he was weak he ran; if he was weak but could no run, he died.

The fear in him was a good fear. Fear is a survival instinct; fear in its way is a comfort for it means that somewhere hope is alive.”

“—-My hand wants me to survive, my tongue, my belly wants me to survive.’”

“Morals: they’re nothing but a coded survival instinct!

Aren’t they? What about the societies in which it is immoral not to eat human flesh? What kind of survival is that?

Well, but those who adhere to morality survive within the group. If the group eats human flesh, you do too.

There must be a name for the code, the set of rules, by which an individual lives in such a way as to help his species, something over and above morals. 

Let’s define that as the ethos.”

A nice happy ending as humanity evolves into something better.


Responses

  1. When I interviewed Theordore Sturgeon, many years ago, I learned a few wonderful things from this writer that have stayed with me. My favorite was, “Never underestimate the intelligence of the reader; never overestimate the reader’s access to information.” It settled a long running argument between me and my cameraman about qualifying words that are not commonly used. I loved this very human, very smart and very giving man and miss his presence in the book scene. Thanks for a great post.

  2. I am so glad you shared that! It must have been amazing to speak with him in person! I’d love to read your interview if it is available anywhere I might access. What a great piece of advice, too!

    • I was working for PBS at the time and it was in the late 70’s! But he was a wonderful man. After the interview he thanked me. When I asked why he said that the camera operators usually knew more about his writing than the interviewer but clearly, I had read his books. Extraordinary human being.


Leave a Reply

Categories

