Posted by: cosmicgarden | October 9, 2012

So I grew this gourd…

I love the soft velvety leaves of the birdhouse gourd plant and am amazed at the white flowers which open in the dark. I couldn’t believe it the first time I saw them glowing in the twilight. Last time I grew a bunch of gourds and they hung in the shed for years and I think they ended up getting thrown out. They were ugly as they dried. I hope to bet this one to cure so as to make something, perhaps a musical instrument, out of it. Christine said she had a friend with a water bottle made out of a gourd. I am crossing my fingers and wish I knew a way to make it dry well instead of just hoping. 2012 0322012 028

And we found there’s something very funny about a gourd that’s as big as your head. It makes everyone smile.

2012 033

And this link to

Artist Maggie LeDuc’s Custom Gourd Art

was inspirational. What a talented artist!


Leave a Reply

Categories

