Posted by: cosmicgarden | November 29, 2012

Gourds on the Steps

I agree with Nikole in every way about the end of summer, coming fall and winter. Please click on the link and read her lovely words about the seasons.  Sweet!

Oh my, I love reading her descriptions about her Saturday sandwiches, like this one about steak and egg:

“for me,

it’s one last kick at that wintery can.

it’s a farewell to cold

and a bright hello to spring.

and for all intents and purposes
it’s super easy.

it has a fried egg, 
sunny side up

the yellow of yolk oozing still.

it has tarragon and lemon

and good lot of crème fraîche.
it has avocado
and butter and pan-fried bread.

it’s got bali pepper (!!) and sel gris,

and perfect pieces of strip loin.

it’s the kinda sandwich

you’d cross the street for,

i can all but promise.


 

 

And although I would love to grow watermelon on my front steps like this:

urban patch | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

I know the heat loving watermelon it just won’t make it on my north side front porch. BUT!  Smile

What about some Cinderella’s Carriage pumpkins? That might actually be able to happen! Or some Lakota squash! It might be pushing it to hope to grow some tender birdhouse gourds there, but it might be worth a try anyway! I think there’s a good chance!

So that is my plan, gourds or melons on the front porch and steps.

I think it’s going to be great.

2012 047

These were a few things picked before the frost. A weird birdhouse gourd and a small Lakota squash and lots of sage.

Leave a Reply

Categories

