Posted by: cosmicgarden | March 11, 2011

Nicki, Scherazi, and Madame Butterfly

MADAME BUTTERFLY
Snapdragon

The 24 inch plants produce a wealth of large, completely double, azalea-shaped blooms in shades of red, pink, purple, lavender, orange, yellow and white. They are superb for cutting. Madame Butterfly is widely adapted and easy to grow.

image

I started these two types of seed in the same tiny pot. The seeds are so tiny I could barely see them. But I could feel them, like smooth grains of sand.  I generally have pretty good luck with snapdragons, and this time I’m starting them on schedule.madame butterfly snapdragon swallowtail seeds 2011_03_11_14_00_11_Page_1

 

madame butterfly snapdragon swallowtail seeds cr 2011_03_11_14_00_11_Page_2

Nicki Mix Flowering Tobacco

I am looking forward to heavenly-scented flowers, these are some of my favorite and I’ve never been successful starting them from seed. Try it again, this may be the year.

Nicki Mix Nicotiana

Scientific Name : Nicotiana alata

Common Name : Flowering Tobacco

Hardiness Degree" : 40°F (4.4°C)

Blooming Season : Late Spring, Summer, Late Summer

Plant Habit : Upright

Spacing : 10 – 14" (25 – 36cm)

Height : 16 – 18" (41 – 46cm)

Width : 10 – 12" (25 – 30cm)

Exposure : Partial Sun

Grower Information : Rugged and durable, the vigorous Nicki series delivers a free-flowering habit, uniform height and excellent weather tolerance. Plants look good in the garden or commercial landscape from early Summer until frost. Best-suited to pot and large container production.

flowering tobacco nicki mix johnnyseeds 2011_03_11_13_49_16_Page_1flowering tobacco nicki mix johnnyseeds 2011_03_11_13_49_16_Page_2

 

scherazi tobacco seeds of change 2011_03_11_14_14_03_Page_1scherazi tobacco seeds of change 2011_03_11_14_14_03_Page_2

Description for "Herbs: Nicotiana tabaccum ‘Scherazi’"

Nicotiana tabaccum ‘Scherazi’ produces gorgeous, beautiful pink flowers that give another reason to grow this strong-flavored, premium quality smoking tobacco from Iran. Seed 2-3 seeds per inch directly in garden when danger of frost has passed. Needs light to germinate. Tamp seed into prepared soil. For earlier flowers, start plants indoors 4-6 weeks before the last frost date and transplant when danger of frost has passed. Sow on soil surface or cover seeds very lightly with soil. Watering tips. During germination, keep entire seedbed evenly moist. Allow soil surface to dry between waterings. Planting depth: 1/8 inch. Days to germination: 7-10 days. 85 days to maturity.

 

The name Scherazi sounds so romantic.  My addiction tempts me with the thought that if I grew it myself it would be nice to smoke some tobacco. My freedom angel on my shoulder says not, though it would be cool to grow it anyway…  We’ll see, I don’t think I had good luck with it before even when it was a fresh pack of seeds.


Responses

  1. […] are the Madame Butterfly snapdragons near the end of their blooming. I like the double fluffiness but the colors are not my favorite. […]


Leave a comment

Categories